Though the Honest Labor Requirements Act (FLSA) has quite a few provisions to guard United States staff regarding additional time, minimal wage, and break durations, particular person states might present their very own laws regarding these areas. An worker is often assured the authorized safety that gives the very best profit. Maine labor legal guidelines present extra intensive and particular safety to sure staff.Extra time Pay in MaineThe Federal authorities has legislated that any hours labored over 40 in a workweek are thought of additional time for non-exempt staff. Maine additional time regulation is in accordance with this statute. Extra time pay is calculated at 1.5 occasions your common fee of hourly pay. Maine regulation additionally proscribes that almost all staff will not be subjected to necessary additional time in extra of 80 hours in a consecutive 2-week interval.
Maine employment regulation doesn’t permit employers to common a couple of workweek collectively with a view to calculate additional time. In a discrete workweek, that’s, seven consecutive 24-hour durations, any hours labored in extra of 40 are compensable for additional time, no matter hours labored in earlier or future weeks. This contains many staff who’re paid on a wage foundation. When you’ve got additional time compensation owed to you for previous hours labored, you could possibly recuperate these wages if you happen to take authorized motion earlier than the statute of limitations expires.Minimal Wage in MaineThe minimal wage within the state of Maine is at the moment greater than the Federal minimal wage; $7.50 an hour for the previous, $7.25 an hour for the latter. The regulation is barely completely different for salaried staff:
Salaried staff in Maine have to be compensated at the very least $455 every week, no matter hours labored, except a full day or extra of scheduled work is missed as an unpaid private day or they take days off for sickness lined underneath an out of doors sick depart program. Partial-day absences will not be deducted from an worker’s paycheck.
Commissions and bonuses don’t issue into this authorized minimal.
Salaried staff which can be thought of to be in govt, administrative, or skilled positions are exempt from assured additional time compensation.
In case you are exempt from additional time compensation, constant and improper deductions out of your paycheck will end result within the lack of exemption. This employer habits usually means that there was no intent to pay you wage wages. Your employer will then be required to compensate you for additional time.
Tipped staff are entitled to minimal wage as effectively. Your wages might depend towards reaching this minimal wage, however can solely cowl as much as 50% of it. The opposite half, or extra, if the wages should not enough to cowl $three.75 an hour, have to be lined by your employer.Lunch Breaks in Maine Labor LawMost staff working shifts of six consecutive hours or extra are entitled to a 30-minute, uninterrupted relaxation interval. Exceptions to this embrace:
Employees a part of a shift of three or fewer staff
Emergency conditions the place the general public welfare is at stake
Workers in positions that permit them to take frequent breaks throughout a workday